top of page

Dancer of the week- Alex Wong


Photo cred: Brian Jamie

Who is Alex Wong?

I'm a classically trained ballet dancer, born and raised in Canada. Former dancer with American Ballet Theatre and Principal soloist with Miami City Ballet. I was also a contestant on So You Think You Can Dance and a reoccurring All Star on the show.

Where are you from?

Vancouver, Canada

Where are you located?

I am bi-coastal, I live in New York City and Los Angeles.

What style of dance do you do?

Everything under the sun! Ballet, contemporary, jazz, tap, hip hop, Bollywood

What does dance mean to you?

It means that I get to do what I love as my real job. How insane!

When did you start dancing?

When I was 7.

Why did you start dancing?

I used to dance around a lot when I was younger. I would bring my family into a room, turn off all the lights and hand my dad a flashlight and say "spotlight me," and then I would perform for them. They would always ask me if I wanted to take dance lessons but I refused because I said dancing was only for girls. Eventually they decided to bring me to a dance show and after that I wanted to immediately start dancing

How does dancing make you feel?

Great, sometimes it hurts haha but mostly great.

What current projects are you currently working on?

I just finished the Broadway show "King and I" and then did an episode of So You Think You Can Dance and Children's Hospital. I will continue to be an All Star on current episodes of So You Think You Can Dance.

Social Media:

Twitter & Instagram: @alexdwong

Photo cred: Cory Jones

Photo cred: Brian Jamie

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page