top of page

Dancer of the Week-CeCe


Who is Cece?

I am an artist who is in love with my African/dance culture. Though dance is not the only way I express myself, it is my favorite. I've been dancing in the Atlanta dance community for about 7 years now. It wasn't until I fully embraced my heritage that I felt I found my niche, which is African/Afro pop dance.

Where are you from?

I was raised in Sacramento, California and moved to Atlanta at the age of 13. I am first generation American and my parents are from Liberia, west africa. I am very in touch with my culture, the food, the music, the dance, all of it has everything to do with my style and who I am.

Where are you located?

I live in Marietta, Georgia, and am very much looking forward to starting an African dance class at any of the Atlanta studios.

What style of dance do you do?

My style is a fusion of African, dancehall, and hip hop. I love this style because the moves are sexy without being raunchy. It's a cultural thing so it's different than what might be considered twerking, even tho we are utilizing the same body parts. There's a swag you gotta have to it that you just can't learn in a class.

What does dance mean to you?

Dance to me means freedom. Freedom from judgment, fears, and it's an amazing way to inspire which is ultimately my goal. Whether I'm doing photography, makeup, or dance, I want to inspire people to live out their dreams, despite what people may say or think.

When did you start dancing?

I started dancing when I was 15 years old in high school. I did not start professionally until 2009 when I work studied at gotta dance Atlanta.

Why did you start dancing?

I started dancing because I loved the feeling it gave me while doing it. It's one of the only things that comes natural to me. Once I started, I was hooked!

How does dancing make you feel?

Dancing makes me feel empowered. I'm a completely different person when I dance. I love when the music takes over, and letting my body tell a story to whoever a watching. I wouldn't trade that feeling for anything.

What current projects are you currently working on?

Currently working on my dance group Lipstikbandits. You can watch videos

www.youtube.com/lipstikbandits

They are just putting out as much material as possible, along with working with various artists, mostly but not limited to African. They look forward to eventually touring with a major artist, but for now they are building their brand and making sure lipstikbandits are THE go to dancers for Afro Pop/African dance.

social media:

IG

@cecebandit

@lipstikbandits

twitter

@lipstikbandits

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page