top of page

Dancer of The Week-Diamond


Who is Diamond?

I am a 21 year old, multi-talented young lady who enjoys life to the fullest.

Where are you from?

I was born in Brooklyn, NY, spent my childhood in Trinidad, P.O.S. but I am from Brooklyn.

Where are you located?

Right now I dorm at Farmingdale State College.

What style of dance do you do?

I have training in Ballet, Modern/Contemporary, African, Hip-Hop, Dunham, Graham and Praise. Since I started a dance team on campus I teach hip-hop, dance-hall and sometimes contemporary.

What does dance mean to you?

Dance is life! I may be talented in a lot of things but dance is my number one joy.

When did you start dancing?

At the age of 5.

Why did you start dancing?

While growing up in Trinidad; the land of Soca, my mother told me I used to be dancing around the house and my grandmother, God bless her soul, told her to put me in a dance school and from there the dancer in me was born.

How does dancing make you feel?

Dance makes me feel alive. Its the first thing I turn to when I am stressed or having a bad day. Just to start improvising or even coming up with choreography for my dance team on campus makes me happy.

What current projects are you currently working on?

Right now I am working on the final performance for the semester with my dance team on campus as well as returning to my dance school in Brooklyn to be apart of Dance Africa at the Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM), which happens every year around memorial weekend. There is a ReMix competition that I was asked to be apart of, but rehearsals for that haven't started yet.

Social Media:

Instagram @iModel_Dimesz

Twitter @Trini_Dimesz

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page