top of page

Dancer of the Week-Michele Bongiorni

Who is Michele Bongiorni?

I am a dancer, choreographer, and teacher

Where are you from?

I am originally from Durham, North Carolina.

Where are you located?

I've moved a lot over the past few years, but currently I live in Kansas City.

What style of dance do you do?

I would say that I'm the most proficient in jazz, but I love hip hop, contemporary, ballet, and ballroom.

What does dance mean to you?

Dance to me has evolved over the years, but it's always been a constant in my life. There was a time where I wasn't dancing as much and it felt like something was missing. That's when I realized dancing was my true passion and a way for me to express what was going on inside. No matter how upset or angry I'm feeling, I know that all I need to do is put on some music and just start moving. Since I move to new cities quite frequently, dance is how I connect with new people and create meaningful friendships.

When did you start dancing?

I started dancing when I was 5 years old. My parents put me in a combo class and I remember really enjoying myself. Even at a young age, I was able to pick up the choreography really quickly which helped me move up to advanced classes a lot sooner.

Why did you start dancing?

It sounds terrible, but I started dancing because my parents just put me in classes. BUT I continued dancing because there was something about it I couldn't walk away from. I loved performing on stage, I loved my dance friends, and I just flat out loved it.

How does dancing make you feel?

This might sound corny, but dancing is in my soul. It makes me so happy. I love the fact that I can turn on the radio, listen to any song, and find ways to dance to the music. I can literally be in a waiting room and music comes on, and it would be hard for me to keep my feet still. Dancing makes me feel like I can be myself.

What current projects are you currently working on?

Right now I'm choreographing the talent portion for a newcomer in the Miss Gay USA Pageant as well as working with Brandee Evans on her new TV show "Dance Crash" which is scheduled to air on the OWN network Saturday, May 30th at 10pm. So that means set your DVR's!!

Update:

Currently working with a competitive dance studio to start a dance team that prepares dancers for collegiate/pro level dance teams. I'm also choreographing for different studios in the Midwest for the upcoming competition season.

Facebook: @mbongiorniorellana

Twitter: @mbongiorni2

Instagram: @mbdancer02

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page