top of page

Dancer of the Week- Justin


Who is Justin?

I am a 20 year old fresh face to Atlanta. I moved here in December with a little bit of cash and my dreams. I hope to not only make a difference in MY life but other people's as well.

Where are you from?

I am from the Midwest, little Omaha, Nebraska.

Where are you located?

I am currently located in Atlanta, Georgia.

What style of Dance do you do?

The styles of dance I do are: Hip Hop, Jazz Funk and Contemporary.

What does dance mean to you?

Dance means everything to me. Happiness, Sadness, Hope, Joy, Peace just to name a few. Dance is my escape from reality. It's the best way for me and for many people to express how I am feeling and its ART. Dance tells a story whether it's Hip Hop or Ballet, you are moving through the music and the words. Dance is one of the reasons why I'm still alive I can proudly say. I know if I wasn't into dance and loved dance so much. I would be in the streets getting into trouble, not finishing school. Dance is LIFE.

When did you start dancing?

I started dancing when I was about 4 or 5 years old. I started dancing at home mimicking Ciara, Chris Brown and Usher videos on TV. Then started dancing in school, outside battling the kids on my block. Even dancing in church.

Why did you start dancing?

I started dancing because I knew that was one of the many gifts God has given me. I lived dance. I couldn't stop dancing wherever I went. In the store, at home, at school, outside even in my room at night when I should've been sleep. Dance I can say chose me. It was all so natural and I taught myself everything I know up until a few years ago when I went to my first mL conventions/MOHH conventions. Where I grew MORE.

How does dancing make you feel?

Dancing makes me feel. If that makes sense. Dancing brings out my emotions and my feelings. I am a very reserved person and dancing brings me out of the shadow I tend to put myself in. I become a whole different person. And I LOVE it!

Current Projects

Currently I am working on a piece for Mad Expressions with my good friend Jordan Willis. Hoping to get accepted for that but if not each song will have its own concept video. I am also working on putting together a small crew of dancers. Just to build and share choreography through not just myself but other dancers as well!

Social Media:

Photos, Links & Social Media:

www.instagram.com/slainbyjustin

www.twitter.com/slainbyjustin

www.youtube.com/fvckjustincocaine

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page