top of page

Dancer of the Week-Milerka


Who is Milerka?Where are you from?

Milerka is a street dancer, choreographer, and instructor from Middletown, NY who discovered her passion for dance at the young age of 3. She began performing where most dancers would start their training, and later joined both high school and college dance teams. Introduced to Kyra Johnson, owner and artistic director of New Beginnings Performing Arts Studio, Milerka auditioned and joined her dance company in January of 2010.

Where are you located?

Currently I live in Washington Heights in Manhattan.

What style of dance do you do?

Everything from Hip-hop and street styles like Waacking and Vogueing, to Ballet, Modern, West African, and Afro-Caribbean.

What does dance mean to you?

Dance to me, is a freedom. It's where I can allow my spirit to move and flow how it wants through my body. It's fun, it's liberating, it's exhilarating, it's challenging, it's art, and it's what I love to do most.

When did you start dancing?

I've been a street dancer forever, but I began training and performing in 2010, so about 5 years now.

Why did you start dancing?

I've just always loved music and how it makes you feel. For me, it makes me want to move and dance. I've loved it since I was about 3 years old.

How does dancing make you feel?

Amazing! The feeling really is indescribable, but if I had to put it in words, it's a combination of liberating moments where my adrenaline is pumping and I get a rush. It makes me so happy.

What current projects are you currently working on?

I'm starting a workshop intensive called "The 7 M.I.L.E. Workshop" which shows dancers which learning intelligences they possess, and how they can use it as a tool to gain a competitive edge in the industry. Mainly, it's geared toward fairly new dancers who have not had the same opportunity to train from a young age as many dancers do.

I'm also part of the Dean's List Tour, which is a college tour that goes around the tri-state, parts of the east coast, and even parts of the west coast and showcases up coming artists. My next show is April 23rd at Pace University.

As a member New Beginnings Dance Company, I perform all over Westchester and NYC areas, as well as teach Hip-hop every Tuesday at New Beginnings Performing Arts Studio in New Rochelle. We also hold a monthly heels workshop called D.I.P (Dancing In Pumps) which doubles as a networking event for successful women, and where they can learn to move freely in their shoes, while getting in touch with their sensual side!

Keep up with Milerka on Facebook.Com/MilerkaDances

and

On Twitter and Instagram: @Mil_erka

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page