top of page

Dancer of The Week-NICOLE ASHLEE KIRKLAND

Who is Nicole Ashlee Kirkland?

I am a 24 year old Scorpio, born on November 1st, 1990. I have one younger sister, Natalie, and an awesome mother and father, Laurie and William, all of whom I love very, very much. I graduated from West Valley College with an AA in Business and Liberal Arts. After graduation I moved to Los Angeles to live out my dream as an entertainer. I am a dancer, choreographer, and teacher and have worked with a lot of pretty cool people, including Prince, Ceelo, E-40, Paloma Ford, Kehlani, Mat Kearney, and K. Michelle to name a few. I am on faculty for NRG Dance Project and consistently travel the world to teach and set pieces. When I am not working I like to go to the beach, listen to music, play pool, eat cookies, swim, and read. My life is pretty awesome and every day that comes is just a new adventure waiting for me.

Where are you from?

I am from the Bay Area of California! San Jose to be exact.

Where are you located?

I am now located in North Hollywood (Noho) California!

What style of dance do you do?

I mostly do hip hop, but I am trained in everything from ballet and tap to Hawaiian and salsa.

What does dance mean to you?

Dance is the opportunity to use my mind to the fullest extent. As a choreographer, not only do I get to create work on human beings, but I get to take visions I see in my head and turn them into reality. As a dancer, I can be anything I want to be, and it gives me freedom. One day I can dance thuggish and the next I get to dance sexy.

When did you start dancing?

I started dancing at the age of 2. I danced for about 10 years and stopped for about 6 due to various reasons. At the age of 18 I started up again and never looked back!

Why did you start dancing?

I first started dancing because my mom wanted me to have an activity. It didn’t take long for me to fall in love with it though. When I stopped at the age of 12 it was devastating. Through those 6 years without dance, I felt empty, like something was missing. When I started up again at 18, I fell in love with it all over again and now I can’t imagine my life without it.

How does dancing make you feel?

Dancing makes me feel happy. The joy I receive when I’m dancing is hard to find anywhere else. The fact that my career and life revolves around that feeling is the most amazing thing to me. Dancing also makes me feel confident and it’s a great icebreaker when it comes to meeting new people. I can be shy around new people but dance diminishes any awkward and/or sad feelings. It can make a party and it’s a universal language everyone can speak. It’s one of the most beautiful things to share with others, and I wouldn’t be happy without it in my life.

Twitter: @nicolekirkland

IG: @nicoleashleekirkland

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page