top of page

Dancer Of The Week- Liz

Liz most recent project performing choreography by Sayquon Keys, March 17th in North Hollywood, CA at Federal Bar at the Afrobeat event

Who is Liz Abitua?

Liz Abitua a curly haired 26 year old adventurer of Mexican and Greek decent who's life purpose is to share her love and happiness all over the world! (did I do alright?)

Where are you from?

I am from a small city outside of Chicago, IL called Elgin.

Where are you located?

I currently live in Studio City, CA.

What style of dance do you do?

What style of dance don't I do? Just kidding! I'm trained in ballet, jazz, modern, lyrical, contemporary, tap, jazz funk, "hip hop", street styles, and musical theatre. My current focus mostly revolves around street styles, "hip hop", jazz funk and contemporary.

I should clarify why I'm putting quotations around hip hop. I have major respect for the hip hop community and understand that by definition, what many dancers consider to be hip hop dance really isn't. If you don't know the elements of hip hop, or just the history of any given style, do your research!

What does dance mean to you?

Dance means the world to me. It has helped me through so many amazing and not so amazing times in my life. I would not be where I am today without dance. I would probably go crazy, to be honest.

When did you start dancing?

I officially started taking dance classes (ballet and tap) around the age of 6.

I've always loved all genres of music, though. When I was as young as 3 years old, I would sing (sometimes rap) and dance in the living room using the vacuum as a mic stand. My family has many home videos of my family members and myself having dance performances all over the house. So I guess I can say I've always been dancing.

Why did you start dancing?

My initial interest in having dance training was during a talent show at my elementary school. One of the older students, Aaron Rogers was going out to perform his solo. I was in awe of his performance, from start to finish. That day after school the first thing I said to my mom was, "I want to dance like Aaron Rogers!" Soon after that, she signed me up for my first dance class. I quickly got hooked. Didn't take long until it was all I wanted to do. As far as Aaron Rogers, I eventually got to dance with him and train with him. He ended up becoming a principle dancer for the Chicago Joffrey Ballet and is still dancing and teaching in Chicago. He's still one of my biggest inspirations aside from my number one inspiration, my mom.

How does dancing make you feel?

Dance makes me feel so many things. I can be whoever I want when I'm dancing. Like so many others, my childhood was not perfect. I am 1 of 3 daughters to an extremely hard working single mother. Home life changed drastically when my mother was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer. I was 9 years old when she got diagnosed. From that day forward, dance became my getaway from the harsh realities of life. It really provided shelter during her years of fighting. One of my mother's dying wishes was that I continue to dance as long as it makes me happy. Sadly, the cancer won the 4 1/2 year battle. I swear I still feel her presence every time I dance. I feel it keeps me connected not just with myself but with my mother, spiritually.

What current projects are you working on?

I have a few different projects I'm working on at the moment. I have a genuine love for teaching, especially children. I'm currently working with a good friend and fellow dancer, Quinton Bunche, on this amazing event for children called Vicious Grooves Junior Jams. It's a 2 day workshop that gives children a taste of what it would be like to be a working dancer in the entertainment industry. I know, the description is really vague but I can't go giving away all our secrets. I'm really excited about this project! Keep a look out for when the website launches (we're planning on the launch date to be March 20th).

Obviously, the constant development and progression as an artist is a daily project of mine. I really want to go on tour this year. Not trying to be cliche, but this is my year! Hahaha! Honestly, I have that gut feeling. I trust my gut so I am pushing towards that.

IG: @lizabitua

Twitter: @lizabitua

Facebook: Liz Abitua

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page