top of page

Dancer of the Week- Seth

Who is Seth?

My name is Seth Swartz, and I'm a man that wears many hats! I'm a dancer, choreographer, dance educator, singer, and cook. I graduated college in 2010 with a Bachelors degree in Psychology...so to my close friends, I'm also an unlicensed therapist!

Where are you from?

I'm originally from Fresno, Ca, but I feel as if I found who I really am while attending college in Santa Cruz, a small beach town in the SF Bay Area. So I say, "Fresno raised me, the Bay Area made me, and now LA is paying me"

Where are you located?

I currently live in Los Angeles, Ca.

What style of dance do you do?

For lack of a better term, my style is urban/hip hop. But unique to the point where it's hard to place my style under a label...I just do what the music tells my body to do!

What does dance mean to you?

What doesn't dance mean to me?! It's my life, and though it can be a very challenging and testing career, it's kept me sane and motivated through my darkest hours. Movement is powerful, it's beautiful, and when done with purpose and the right intention, it can change lives!

When did you start dancing?

I signed as a professional dancer in 2011, starting dancing and taking it more seriously in college back around 2007, but prior to that I've been in a choir, band, show choir, and have always had a passion for music and movement. I remember winning the "Best Dancer" award at the end of both middle & high school, and though I'm pretty sure I got the awards from being a lil freak at school dances, I guess it was God trying to shed light on what I would end up being most passionate about.

Why did you start dancing?

I'm not sure there was a specific reason that got me dancing besides growing up with great music to move to. I LIVE for 90's R&B and Hip Hop. I grew up watching some of the greatest performers that ever lived, unconsciously studying their moves, and like I said earlier, my body would just do what the music told me to do!

How does dancing make you feel?

Had a conversation about this the other day while teaching class at Debbie Reynolds Studio in North Hollywood, Ca. I was talking to my student about this "dance euphoria" that I learned from my amazing mentor, Gigi Torres. It's the moment when your dancing, on or off stage, when nothing seems to exist in that moment but you and your movement. When you've allowed yourself to be vulnerable and let the music guide your body, and in turn, you subconsciously develop this overflowing feeling of almost unexplainable joy that can't be derived from anywhere else. This is how dance makes me feel, and this is why I continue to dance. Nothing else in the world makes me feel the way music and movement does.

SOCIAL MEDIA::

IG & Twitter-

@sethswartz

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page